The Pump House
The building directly on the corner of Route 38 and River lane is called The Pump House. In it weddings, meetings, and events are held. It’s serene location and historic preservation are what makes this building so special.
A short history on the building: In the years prior to 1896, Geneva experienced a series of fires which proved so damaging that a three inch surface main-pipe was laid on the principal street and connected with a rotary pump to provide water for fire protection. This was better than nothing, but with the loss of the Courthouse in March of 1890 due to an inadequate water supply, it became apparent that a more modern system must be built.
At the Geneva City Council Meeting on April 19, 1896 an ordinance for construction of the system of water works was enacted. The cost of work was not to exceed $350,000, and was to be paid for in part by general taxation and in part by special assessment upon the properties benefited.
In July the work on the station house and reservoir was well along. The slate roof was placed on the double brick building and a roof was being put upon the 140,000 gallon capacity reservoir. The brick smoke-stack was to be 70 feet in height and the Dean Pump was one of the largest made of its time, having a stroke capacity of 36 gallons. The first water was pumped in September of 1896 and the electric generator was turned on in December of the same year.
In 2001, this building was restored to provide a very unique and upscale event space for all types of gatherings.